a first chicken curry


On a whim and after reading through Prerna’s amazing blog, Indian Simmer, I was inspired to try my hand at making an Indian dish. This is actually my second stab at the Indian cuisine (the first being some spiced beef patties), but the whole mentality of Indian cooking is a bit foreign to me. There are elements common to Chinese cuisine, but the Indian style involves a lot more complex flavor profiles when it comes to spices and ingredients. The subtle flavors of the various seeds and powders and chillies come through in a well-thought-out Indian curry.

The chicken curry I planned up is not according to any single recipe and isn’t particularly authentic, due to my addition and omission of various ingredients. In fact, it’s like a cross between a curry and a masala. However, I think it turned out pretty well, and I have a much better understanding of how to go about preparing the ingredients (believe me, it’s all about prep) and massaging the components into a final product that is both aromatic and delicious.

One thought on “a first chicken curry

Leave a Reply

