Rewards/Loyalty Programs


These days, rewards programs are everywhere. Bookstores, electronics stores, credit cards, restaurants, and even athletic clubs are all setting up these customer incentive program to try to gain loyal clientele. Actually, this kind of thing has been around for a while, probably dating back to Roman times when frequent customers to some local market merchant’s shop would probably get a little something extra with their daily purchases of bread and cheese. These days, airlines are offering free tickets for mileage, and car manufacturers are giving out free gas cards to new purchasers.

For me, my only real experience (besides Coke’s rewards program) is with Citicard’s ThankYou program. I think it’s a pretty good one at that: they have a ton of things to redeem your hard-earned credit card points for, such as books, housewares, DVDs, and a ton of other useful junk. I’ve actually redeemed some of my points for two books, Gordon Ramsay’s *** Chef and Jamie Oliver’s Jamie At Home. To me, those points are worth it.

But how do you accumulate those points? Well, for Citicard (or any credit card), it’s by charging your card and paying your bills. Whatever is paid off of your balance is going to get translated into points for your account. It’s something like a $1 = 100 points  conversion rate. I think this is a pretty sweet program, maybe not the best conversion ratio in the world, but at least I can get some nice swag for spending money on things that I need to spend money on anyway. They pay for shipping and handling too, so it’s absolutely just point and click on your items and that’s all!

I’m sure some of you out there have had similar rewards programs, and if you haven’t redeemed your points or if you don’t think it’s worth it for you, let me tell you something: IT’S WORTH IT. Just redeem your points and get something nice for yourself.

I think I’m going to get another GR book soon. Or a set of his Royal Doulton plates. I don’t know.

So, I’m going to start a Rewards Program for my loyal readers. You get points for every comment you make, and you can redeem points for some awesome prize that I will determine. GO!

Leave a Reply

